WOAA Women's Hockey Residency, News (TCDMHA)

News Article
News Article Image
Aug 28, 2011 | Vonnie Crawford | 1675 views
WOAA Women's Hockey Residency
At the WOAA Women's Hockey AGM meeting held recently in Wingham the W.O.A.A. Women’s Hockey Committee presented a motion to eliminate the W.O.A.A. residency rule in the W.O.A.A. Women’s Hockey program. This motion was carried 

With this motion being passed it will put the W.O.A.A. Women’s Hockey program in conjunction with the OWHA (our governing body); as well as many other Women’s Hockey leagues in Ontario that do not have residency rules.  

The WOAA Women's Hockey Manual of Operations section C-1 will now read

Commencing the 2011-12 hockey season, any Women’s Hockey first time registrant within the W.O.A.A. shall have the choice of the centre she wishes to sign with.  Any previously registered W.O.A.A. player who fails to register with their previously registered centre prior to September 15th is ineligible for a release. Any previously registered player who is registered prior to September 15th but wishes to play in another centre may request a release from the centre they are currently registered with. 

This along with the motion passed at the OWHA AGM that changes the division in which we enter teams will change Women's Hockey within the WOAA and TCDMHA.  Per this amendment our OWHA Rep teams will be entered "B" instead of "C" for our 1st Rep entry.  We still have to option of entering HL

Amendment number 12 submitted by the OWHA Executive Committee that was amended to read
Except in Senior, any association/team, with only one team in a division must register a minimum of “B”-passed

TCDMHA currently has team registered at each age group Atom, PeeWee, Bantam & Midget, if you are interested in playing Girls hockey of the Township of Chatsworth & District Minor Hockey please Contact Secretary/Registrar Debbie McNabb

Township of Georgian Bluffs
Just a few hours from major Ontario cities, Georgian Bluffs is a collection of communities stretching north from Chatsworth to just south of Wiarton. Copper Kettle, Cobble Beach, Slough of Despond, Big Bay, Oxenden, Balmy Beach… these are just some of the names that paint a picture of the Georgian Bluffs canvas along the Georgian Bay Coastal Route. We have the natural beauty of waterfalls, the Niagara Escarpment and the blue waters of Georgian Bay just to mention a few of our natural amenities. We are a township for all seasons!
Township of Chatsworth
Essentially a rural community, the Township of Chatsworth takes its flavour from the farmlands and forests surrounding it. We welcome visitors to stop and visit as you drive through central Grey County. Amalgamated January 1, 2000, the Township of Chatsworth is made up of the former Townships of Holland and Sullivan and the Village of Chatsworth. The Township population is approximately 8,000 in an area of 260 square miles. Agriculture is the most predominant industry in the Township. There are also a significant number of sawmills in the township, many operated by the Amish community. Tourism and recreation are a growing industry. The Niagara Escarpment, 6 county forests, numerous conservation areas, inland lakes and major rivers provide plenty of year round activities including hiking, biking, snowmobiling, and cross country skiing.